The village of Keshcarrigan, the ‘High Point’ of the Shannon/Erne Waterway is situated between the Loch Scur and Kesh Lake in the shadow of the majestic Slieve an Íarann Mountain .
Steeped in an area of of historical and archaeological interest, Keshcarrigan is a place of unspoilt and natural beauty and is one of Ireland’s best kept secrets. Since the redevelopment of the Shannon/Erne Waterway and the marina facilities in the village there have been vast changes to the village .
Tourism has increased and many people have been introduced to the natural charm and beauty of the area. The population of the village , which had remained stagnant for decades has increased, emigrants returned to their homeplace and new people settled in the area attracted by the way of life in this rural area. However, the village is committed to maintaining rural traditions culture and way of life of a village.
Keshcarrigan has a vibrant and very active development association and community and takes great pride in enhancing the natural beauty and amenities of the area. There are several gardens in the village for the community and visitors to enjoy.
The ‘Fair Green’ Garden is located in the heart of the village where the original fair green was sited in the 1800s. Situated adjacent is ‘Fionn Mac Cumghaill Cottage’ a charming thatched cottage, oldest and still lived-in house in the village …..’Stepping Stones Garden’ , where the two lakes surrounding the village where once joined by stepping stones …….the ‘Wildflower Garden ‘ where nature is allowed to run riot and provide protection for the many wildlife creatures that inhabit the area, hedgehogs, foxes, badgers, otters , wildfowl and a myriad of insects, butterflies , bees etc., Fr Mychal Judge Peace Garden and Memorial on the shores of Kesh Lake – dedicated to the memory of Fr Mychal Judge the 1st official casualty of the 9/11 terrorist attack in New York. His father hailed from Keshcarrigan and the garden is located on land that belonged to the Judge family .Fr Mychal visited the village on several occasions before his untimely death.
There are many interesting places to visit and things to see in the village and surrounding countryside. You can drive, walk, cycle, travel by boat or just relax
The village is located in the Loch Scur valley between Slieve an Íarann Mountain to the north and Sheebeg Hill to the south and is a beautiful and historic place. Generations of people have lived here in an unbroken line dating back to prehistoric times.
The area surrounding the village has numerous locations of archaeological and historical interest. Sheebeg Hill, on the summit is an excavated Passage Tomb, the Dolmen close to Loch Scur is a partially collapsed Portal Tomb dating from c 4,000 BC , Standing Stones , cist tomb, souterrain, old Gaol , crannogs all close by.. The ruins of Castle Sean Úi Gheann is on the shores of Loch Scur , a notorious landlord from the 1600s.
History and archaeology are remembered in several memorials dotted around the village. An information plaque depicting the Keshcarrigan Bowl was erected in 2000. There is a modern interpretation Art Piece of the legend of Fionn Mac Cumghaill erected at the entrance to the old quarry, and a monument commemorating the march of General Humbert and his army through the village on their way to Ballinamuck and defeat in 1798.
During relief works after the Famine in 1853 when the original canal , now the Shannon/Erne Waterway was being excavated , the Keshcarrigan Bowl was discovered .
This golden bronze ceremonial drinking bowl dating from the 1st Century is now on display in the National Museum.